felt like yammerin’   Leave a comment

Well I just took a long walk and something occurred to me when walking that never has before.  Yes it’s stupid and a rationalization but I liked the thought anyway.  It occurs to me that maybe I’m lucky I didn’t hit the bigtime in music because now my whole amazing catalogue is still new to pretty much the whole world and maybe my latest invention of myself will be the best one.  haha   Sure I’m so old I remember when all the great baseball stars of today were rookies, but who knows what form the big Father Time explosion may take.   hahahoohoonoIdon’tbelievethat.

 

What got me thinking is I was listening to a 10 song selection I made for a CD today, the occasion, well, I’m sending it to my high school reunion for them to play a couple songs (they’re also going to give away some of my CDs as prizes/gifts).   I’ve never been to one of my class reunions even though while I was in high school I probably would’ve been voted most likely to attend a class reunion.  I was pretty geeky and involved in a lot of activities.  In college and afterwards I changed so much I wouldn’t recognize me.  It’s my busy work season so no way could I set aside several days to go to that but I figure since somebody there started a rumor that I died the last time (which I only heard about not long ago on facebook), might as well send them proof that I didn’t die.  haha   or did I ?

 

I picked songs that didn’t have any swearing and some of which are more the kind of music many are inclined to listen to in central PA.  Too Elusive and Old 22, country rock.  One of my latest rockers I Can’t Say, and Walmartville.  Well might as well not go thru them all but The Night She Met Me it struck me is a perfect movie theme with simply the most over-the-top cool guitar solo I ever played.  So I was also listening to the original version of Is It Somethin’ I Said? which I hadn’t done for a long time, and found it so soulful I moved it to my Greatest Hits record.  I have another more well known version with additional guitar by Will Mendez, an outstanding guitarist, but while I love that version too, the song really didn’t need more solos than were already on it, and the pureness of the first version is just intense, it rang so true for me.  By the way you can hear all those songs at http://fathertime.bandcamp.com

 

An interesting story about the mp3.com days.. My peak in 2000 was when I released Virtual Star and Is It Somethin’ I Said? back to back.  I knew these were great songs and many of my peers knew too, and they got a lot of listens.  However at that juncture the mp3.com musicologists were still holding me back (I believe their charts were weighted in some way).  I got in a fight with the head musicologist the first week I was there so I never got any features, no breaks at all from that site.  I was so flummoxxed by the idea that neither song made the top 10 that I wrote to an administrator I knew, pointing out that these are great songs and for some unknown reason they seemed to artificially get stalled at the same place on the charts.  The guy told me they were great songs and he was going to look into it.  After that the obstacle didn’t seem to be in place anymore, I think they took the weighting off my artist name.  Later on Virtual Star hit number one when I rereleased it but by then I was the internet star we all know and love.  heh

 

Anyway my new career mission is starting now.  I’m a new artist again.  🙂

Posted September 28, 2011 by fathertimemusic in Uncategorized

Leave a comment